Skip to content
Follow usStay connected

IRCTC West Zone Apprentice Recruitment 2026: Apply for 27 COPA, Procurement, HR & Marketing Seats

Review the recruitment details, important dates and application links available for this job.

Shila Choudhary
Written by
Regal Naukri logo
Editorial teamRegal Editorial Team
Dilip Kumar
Final review byDilip Kumar
Application closes in
Closed
Last date: 18 Oct 2026
Vacancies27
Qualification10th + ITI / Graduate
LocationMaharashtra, India

Recruitment Snapshot

Closed

IRCTC West Zone Apprentice Recruitment 2026: Apply for 27 COPA, Procurement, HR & Marketing Seats lists 27 vacancies in Maharashtra, India. Candidates should meet the 10th + ITI / Graduate requirement and apply by 18 Oct 2026. The official notification was issued on 30 Sep 2026.

Vacancies27
EmploymentIntern
LocationMaharashtra, India
Apply by18 Oct 2026
Organisation: Indian Railway Catering and Tourism Corporation Ltd. Advertisement No.: 2026-27/IRCTC/WZ/Apprentice Official Notification Date: 30 Sep 2026

Recruitment timeline

Application window
1Official notification published30 Sep 2026
2Applications opened30 Sep 2026
3Applications close18 Oct 2026
Published on Regal Naukri Updated

Indian Railway Catering and Tourism Corporation Ltd. (IRCTC), West Zone, Mumbai has opened a one-year apprenticeship intake for 27 trainees under Notification 2026-27/IRCTC/WZ/Apprentice, dated 30 September 2026.

This intake is unusual because it combines one ITI-linked computer trade with three office-oriented apprentice roles. The seat mix is 12 COPA, 6 Procurement, 3 HR Payroll & Employee Data Management, and 6 Marketing Operations & Analytics. Online applications run from 30 September to 18 October 2026.

Recruitment Snapshot

ParticularDetails
Recruiting organisationIndian Railway Catering and Tourism Corporation Ltd. (IRCTC), West Zone
Notification2026-27/IRCTC/WZ/Apprentice
Notification date30 September 2026
Total apprentice seats27
Training duration12 months
Application modeOnline
Application window30 September–18 October 2026
Place of training/postingMumbai or Regional Offices/Units under IRCTC West Zone
Minimum common academic conditionMatriculation with at least 50% aggregate marks
Selection basisClass 10 percentage merit, followed by document verification
Written test / vivaNo
StipendAs per prescribed Apprenticeship Act rates

Seat Map: Where the 27 Openings Are

Apprentice roleDepartmentSeatsRole-specific qualification printed in the notice
Computer Operator and Programming Assistant (COPA)All Departments12Matriculation + ITI certificate affiliated to NCVT/SCVT
Executive – ProcurementCatering Department6Graduation pursuing in Commerce / CA Inter / Supply Chain / similar
HR Executive – Payroll and Employee Data ManagementFinance Department3Graduate in any discipline
Marketing Operations and AnalyticsTourism Department6Graduate in any discipline
Total27

The arithmetic is 12 + 6 + 3 + 6 = 27.

Who Should Check This Recruitment Carefully

The four apprentice rows do not share one identical qualification. COPA is the ITI route, while the Procurement, HR and Marketing rows are aimed at graduate-level candidates or, for Procurement, candidates pursuing one of the listed commerce/supply-chain pathways.

IRCTC also requires candidates to have passed Matriculation with at least 50% marks in aggregate from a recognised board. The prescribed role-specific qualification must already be passed or be under pursuit, as permitted for that row, on the cut-off stated in the notification.

Before applying, match your exact course/trade to the row above rather than relying only on the words “ITI” or “Graduate.” You can use the Government Job Eligibility Checker as an additional personal checklist after reading the official PDF.

Important Age Note: The Notification Contains Two Different Cut-off References

The age band printed in the vacancy table is 15 years completed to 25 years, with relaxation of 5 years for SC/ST, 3 years for OBC and 10 years for PwBD, plus the stated Ex-Servicemen relaxation.

However, candidates should notice an inconsistency in the official PDF:

  • the vacancy-table header still says the upper-age limit is reckoned “as on 18/08/25”; while
  • a separate note below the table states that the cut-off date for qualification and age criteria is 30 September 2026.

The notification contains conflicting age-cutoff references. Candidates should use the stated 15–25 years age band and check any IRCTC clarification before relying on the precise reckoning date.

Application Calendar

EventDate
Notification issued30 September 2026
Online application begins30 September 2026
Last date to apply18 October 2026
Qualification / age cut-off note in PDF30 September 2026
Document verificationShortlisted candidates will be called at short notice

How Merit Will Be Prepared

IRCTC is not conducting a written examination or viva for this apprentice intake. The merit list is prepared from the percentage obtained in Matriculation.

Where two candidates have the same Class 10 percentage, the older candidate receives preference. If their dates of birth also match, priority goes to the candidate who passed Matriculation earlier. Final engagement remains subject to verification of original certificates.

This makes the Class 10 record important even for the graduate-oriented apprentice rows.

Training Period and Stipend

Every notified apprentice role carries a 12-month training period.

The notification does not print a fixed rupee stipend for each row. Selected apprentices will receive the monthly stipend prescribed under the Apprenticeship Act.

Registration and Application Route

The official notification requires applicants to produce details of their registration on the Apprenticeship India portal.

  1. Open the Apprenticeship India Portal.
  2. Complete or update your candidate registration.
  3. Search for the current IRCTC West Zone apprentice opportunity corresponding to Notification 2026-27/IRCTC/WZ/Apprentice.
  4. Choose only the apprentice role for which you meet the printed eligibility.
  5. Complete the online application by 18 October 2026.
  6. Save your portal registration and submitted application details.
  7. Keep originals ready because shortlisted candidates may be asked to report for verification at short notice.

The recruitment is for training at Mumbai or Regional Offices/Units under IRCTC West Zone.

Documents to Prepare

The official notice asks candidates to keep legible self-attested scanned copies of the applicable records. The list includes:

  • Class 10 mark sheet;
  • ITI mark sheets for COPA applicants;
  • graduation degree and mark sheets where graduation is the eligibility basis;
  • proof of date of birth;
  • consolidated ITI semester record / provisional National Trade Certificate, where relevant;
  • NCVT/SCVT National Trade Certificate or provisional certificate, where relevant;
  • SC/ST/OBC certificate for candidates claiming reservation;
  • EWS certificate where applicable;
  • PwBD certificate where applicable;
  • discharge/serving certificate for the relevant Ex-Servicemen claim; and
  • a recent colour photograph meeting the notification requirements.

Shortlisted candidates must take their original documents plus two self-attested photocopy sets for document verification.

Use the Government Job Document Checklist to organise the file set before submission and verification.

Application Fee

The four-page IRCTC notification does not specify an application fee. Do not assume a fee from an older IRCTC recruitment or from a third-party article; follow only what the official portal shows for this intake.

Practical Checks Before Submission

A few details deserve extra attention because they can affect candidature:

  • your name, father’s name and date of birth should match the Matriculation/equivalent record;
  • use a recent, clear colour photograph;
  • keep the same photograph available for later verification;
  • select the correct trade because IRCTC states that a selected apprentice cannot later change the trade; and
  • be ready to report for document verification with little notice if shortlisted.

Important Links

LinkPurpose
Official IRCTC West Zone Apprentice NotificationOfficial 4-page Notification No. 2026-27/IRCTC/WZ/Apprentice
IRCTC Careers Notice PageOfficial careers notice listing the 27-seat West Zone apprentice recruitment
Apprenticeship India PortalCandidate registration / apprenticeship application route
IRCTC Official WebsiteRecruiting organisation website
Government Job Eligibility CheckerPersonal eligibility pre-check
Government Job Document ChecklistDocument preparation checklist

Frequently Asked Questions

How many apprentice seats has IRCTC West Zone announced for 2026?

There are 27 seats across four apprentice roles: 12 COPA, 6 Procurement, 3 HR Payroll & Employee Data Management, and 6 Marketing Operations & Analytics.

What is the last date to apply?

The online application window closes on 18 October 2026.

Is there a written examination or interview?

No written test or viva is listed. Merit is based on the candidate’s Matriculation percentage, followed by document verification.

What qualification is required for COPA?

The COPA row requires Matriculation plus an ITI certificate affiliated to NCVT/SCVT. The notification also requires at least 50% aggregate marks in Matriculation.

Can graduates apply for all four apprentice roles?

No. Eligibility is role-specific. The graduate-oriented rows are Procurement, HR Payroll & Employee Data Management, and Marketing Operations & Analytics, while COPA specifically requires the notified ITI route.

What is the age limit?

The notification prints an age band of 15 completed to 25 years with category relaxations. It also contains conflicting references for the exact age reckoning date, so candidates should read the official PDF carefully and check for any clarification from IRCTC.

What stipend will be paid?

The notification does not state a fixed rupee amount. It says the monthly stipend will follow the prescribed rates under the Apprenticeship Act.