Indian Railway Catering and Tourism Corporation Ltd. (IRCTC), West Zone, Mumbai has opened a one-year apprenticeship intake for 27 trainees under Notification 2026-27/IRCTC/WZ/Apprentice, dated 30 September 2026.
This intake is unusual because it combines one ITI-linked computer trade with three office-oriented apprentice roles. The seat mix is 12 COPA, 6 Procurement, 3 HR Payroll & Employee Data Management, and 6 Marketing Operations & Analytics. Online applications run from 30 September to 18 October 2026.
Recruitment Snapshot
| Particular | Details |
|---|---|
| Recruiting organisation | Indian Railway Catering and Tourism Corporation Ltd. (IRCTC), West Zone |
| Notification | 2026-27/IRCTC/WZ/Apprentice |
| Notification date | 30 September 2026 |
| Total apprentice seats | 27 |
| Training duration | 12 months |
| Application mode | Online |
| Application window | 30 September–18 October 2026 |
| Place of training/posting | Mumbai or Regional Offices/Units under IRCTC West Zone |
| Minimum common academic condition | Matriculation with at least 50% aggregate marks |
| Selection basis | Class 10 percentage merit, followed by document verification |
| Written test / viva | No |
| Stipend | As per prescribed Apprenticeship Act rates |
Seat Map: Where the 27 Openings Are
| Apprentice role | Department | Seats | Role-specific qualification printed in the notice |
|---|---|---|---|
| Computer Operator and Programming Assistant (COPA) | All Departments | 12 | Matriculation + ITI certificate affiliated to NCVT/SCVT |
| Executive – Procurement | Catering Department | 6 | Graduation pursuing in Commerce / CA Inter / Supply Chain / similar |
| HR Executive – Payroll and Employee Data Management | Finance Department | 3 | Graduate in any discipline |
| Marketing Operations and Analytics | Tourism Department | 6 | Graduate in any discipline |
| Total | 27 |
The arithmetic is 12 + 6 + 3 + 6 = 27.
Who Should Check This Recruitment Carefully
The four apprentice rows do not share one identical qualification. COPA is the ITI route, while the Procurement, HR and Marketing rows are aimed at graduate-level candidates or, for Procurement, candidates pursuing one of the listed commerce/supply-chain pathways.
IRCTC also requires candidates to have passed Matriculation with at least 50% marks in aggregate from a recognised board. The prescribed role-specific qualification must already be passed or be under pursuit, as permitted for that row, on the cut-off stated in the notification.
Before applying, match your exact course/trade to the row above rather than relying only on the words “ITI” or “Graduate.” You can use the Government Job Eligibility Checker as an additional personal checklist after reading the official PDF.
Important Age Note: The Notification Contains Two Different Cut-off References
The age band printed in the vacancy table is 15 years completed to 25 years, with relaxation of 5 years for SC/ST, 3 years for OBC and 10 years for PwBD, plus the stated Ex-Servicemen relaxation.
However, candidates should notice an inconsistency in the official PDF:
- the vacancy-table header still says the upper-age limit is reckoned “as on 18/08/25”; while
- a separate note below the table states that the cut-off date for qualification and age criteria is 30 September 2026.
The notification contains conflicting age-cutoff references. Candidates should use the stated 15–25 years age band and check any IRCTC clarification before relying on the precise reckoning date.
Application Calendar
| Event | Date |
|---|---|
| Notification issued | 30 September 2026 |
| Online application begins | 30 September 2026 |
| Last date to apply | 18 October 2026 |
| Qualification / age cut-off note in PDF | 30 September 2026 |
| Document verification | Shortlisted candidates will be called at short notice |
How Merit Will Be Prepared
IRCTC is not conducting a written examination or viva for this apprentice intake. The merit list is prepared from the percentage obtained in Matriculation.
Where two candidates have the same Class 10 percentage, the older candidate receives preference. If their dates of birth also match, priority goes to the candidate who passed Matriculation earlier. Final engagement remains subject to verification of original certificates.
This makes the Class 10 record important even for the graduate-oriented apprentice rows.
Training Period and Stipend
Every notified apprentice role carries a 12-month training period.
The notification does not print a fixed rupee stipend for each row. Selected apprentices will receive the monthly stipend prescribed under the Apprenticeship Act.
Registration and Application Route
The official notification requires applicants to produce details of their registration on the Apprenticeship India portal.
- Open the Apprenticeship India Portal.
- Complete or update your candidate registration.
- Search for the current IRCTC West Zone apprentice opportunity corresponding to Notification 2026-27/IRCTC/WZ/Apprentice.
- Choose only the apprentice role for which you meet the printed eligibility.
- Complete the online application by 18 October 2026.
- Save your portal registration and submitted application details.
- Keep originals ready because shortlisted candidates may be asked to report for verification at short notice.
The recruitment is for training at Mumbai or Regional Offices/Units under IRCTC West Zone.
Documents to Prepare
The official notice asks candidates to keep legible self-attested scanned copies of the applicable records. The list includes:
- Class 10 mark sheet;
- ITI mark sheets for COPA applicants;
- graduation degree and mark sheets where graduation is the eligibility basis;
- proof of date of birth;
- consolidated ITI semester record / provisional National Trade Certificate, where relevant;
- NCVT/SCVT National Trade Certificate or provisional certificate, where relevant;
- SC/ST/OBC certificate for candidates claiming reservation;
- EWS certificate where applicable;
- PwBD certificate where applicable;
- discharge/serving certificate for the relevant Ex-Servicemen claim; and
- a recent colour photograph meeting the notification requirements.
Shortlisted candidates must take their original documents plus two self-attested photocopy sets for document verification.
Use the Government Job Document Checklist to organise the file set before submission and verification.
Application Fee
The four-page IRCTC notification does not specify an application fee. Do not assume a fee from an older IRCTC recruitment or from a third-party article; follow only what the official portal shows for this intake.
Practical Checks Before Submission
A few details deserve extra attention because they can affect candidature:
- your name, father’s name and date of birth should match the Matriculation/equivalent record;
- use a recent, clear colour photograph;
- keep the same photograph available for later verification;
- select the correct trade because IRCTC states that a selected apprentice cannot later change the trade; and
- be ready to report for document verification with little notice if shortlisted.
Important Links
| Link | Purpose |
|---|---|
| Official IRCTC West Zone Apprentice Notification | Official 4-page Notification No. 2026-27/IRCTC/WZ/Apprentice |
| IRCTC Careers Notice Page | Official careers notice listing the 27-seat West Zone apprentice recruitment |
| Apprenticeship India Portal | Candidate registration / apprenticeship application route |
| IRCTC Official Website | Recruiting organisation website |
| Government Job Eligibility Checker | Personal eligibility pre-check |
| Government Job Document Checklist | Document preparation checklist |
Frequently Asked Questions
How many apprentice seats has IRCTC West Zone announced for 2026?
There are 27 seats across four apprentice roles: 12 COPA, 6 Procurement, 3 HR Payroll & Employee Data Management, and 6 Marketing Operations & Analytics.
What is the last date to apply?
The online application window closes on 18 October 2026.
Is there a written examination or interview?
No written test or viva is listed. Merit is based on the candidate’s Matriculation percentage, followed by document verification.
What qualification is required for COPA?
The COPA row requires Matriculation plus an ITI certificate affiliated to NCVT/SCVT. The notification also requires at least 50% aggregate marks in Matriculation.
Can graduates apply for all four apprentice roles?
No. Eligibility is role-specific. The graduate-oriented rows are Procurement, HR Payroll & Employee Data Management, and Marketing Operations & Analytics, while COPA specifically requires the notified ITI route.
What is the age limit?
The notification prints an age band of 15 completed to 25 years with category relaxations. It also contains conflicting references for the exact age reckoning date, so candidates should read the official PDF carefully and check for any clarification from IRCTC.
What stipend will be paid?
The notification does not state a fixed rupee amount. It says the monthly stipend will follow the prescribed rates under the Apprenticeship Act.