Maharaja Suhel Dev University (MSDU), Azamgarh has invited applications for 18 Assistant Professor posts on a purely contractual basis under its self-financed programmes. The recruitment covers Computer Science & Engineering and Law. Online applications opened on 4 October 2026 and close on 24 October 2026. Candidates who submit the online form must also send the signed hard copy with the required documents so that it reaches the university by 31 October 2026.
The university has fixed the remuneration at ₹57,700 per month. Candidates should pay particular attention to the two-stage submission process: completing the online form alone does not finish the application requirement because a signed hard copy must also reach the Registrar by the notified deadline.
Recruitment Overview
| Particular | Details |
|---|---|
| University | Maharaja Suhel Dev University, Azamgarh |
| Post | Assistant Professor on Contract |
| Total vacancies | 18 |
| Departments | Computer Science & Engineering; Law |
| Appointment basis | Purely contractual |
| Programme | Self-financed programmes |
| Fixed salary | ₹57,700 per month |
| Online application start | 4 October 2026 |
| Online application last date | 24 October 2026 |
| Online correction last date | 26 October 2026 |
| Hard-copy receipt deadline | 31 October 2026 |
| Application mode | Online application followed by signed hard-copy submission |
| Selection | Written test, research/API score process, teaching-skill assessment and interview |
| Job location | Azamgarh, Uttar Pradesh |
The published advertisement form leaves its “Advertisement No.” field unfilled, so no advertisement number is stated here.
MSDU Vacancy Details
| Department / Subject | Total | UR | OBC | SC | ST | EWS |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Computer Science & Engineering (Computer Science, Data Science, Artificial Intelligence & Machine Learning) | 12 | 5 | 3 | 3 | 0 | 1 |
| Law | 6 | 2 | 2 | 1 | 0 | 1 |
| Total | 18 | 7 | 5 | 4 | 0 | 2 |
The university states that reservation will be followed under Government of Uttar Pradesh rules. Reservation benefits are available only to eligible Uttar Pradesh residents who submit the required valid category and domicile documents. OBC candidates in the creamy layer are not entitled to OBC reservation and must apply as Unreserved candidates.
Important Dates
| Event | Date |
|---|---|
| Recruitment published / online applications begin | 4 October 2026 |
| Last date to submit online application | 24 October 2026 |
| Last date for correction in online form | 26 October 2026 |
| Last date for hard copy with supporting documents to reach MSDU | 31 October 2026 |
| Written test date | Not specified in this advertisement |
| Interview / teaching-skill assessment date | Not specified in this advertisement |
Candidates should complete the online form well before 24 October and allow sufficient postal time for the signed hard copy to reach Azamgarh by 31 October.
Qualification and Eligibility
The five-page recruitment advertisement does not reproduce a separate department-wise degree-and-marks table for Computer Science & Engineering and Law. Instead, it states that minimum eligibility and qualifications will be governed by the applicable UGC Regulations, 2018, relevant Uttar Pradesh Government orders, UGC/AICTE regulations, the U.P. State Universities Act, 1973, and other applicable statutory-body rules and amendments.
Candidates must therefore ensure that they satisfy the exact regulatory eligibility applicable to their subject as on the closing date. The notice specifically states the following qualification-related conditions:
| Condition | Official requirement stated in the notice |
|---|---|
| Recognition of degrees | Degrees must be from institutions recognized/approved by UGC, AICTE or another relevant statutory body |
| Foreign degrees | Must be supported by an equivalence certificate from the Association of Indian Universities (AIU), New Delhi |
| NET/SLET/SET exemption for PhD | Eligible PhD holders covered by the specified UGC 2009/2016 PhD regulations and subsequent amendments may be exempt from NET/SLET/SET |
| Older PhD registrations | PhD candidates registered before 11 July 2009 are governed by the then-existing institutional ordinances/bye-laws/regulations for the exemption described in the notice |
| Disciplines without accredited NET/SLET/SET test | NET/SLET/SET is not required where such an accredited test is not conducted for the relevant Master’s discipline |
| Older PhD marks relaxation | For UGC-governed positions, eligible PhD holders who obtained the degree before 19 September 1991 may receive the notified 5% relaxation in PG marks from 55% to 50% |
Because the advertisement incorporates discipline-specific statutory rules by reference rather than reproducing one common academic formula, candidates should verify the exact Computer Science & Engineering or Law eligibility applicable to them before paying the non-refundable fee.
Experience Requirements
The advertisement does not prescribe one common minimum number of years of experience for all 18 posts. However, candidates who claim past service or experience must upload appropriate evidence. The university specifically asks for an appointment letter along with an experience letter issued by the competent authority and duly attested.
Applicants already employed in the public or private sector must also enclose their Form 16 and salary slips for the last three years. Candidates serving in Government sectors or autonomous bodies must produce a No Objection Certificate (NOC) at the time of interview together with a clear statement that no vigilance case is pending or contemplated against them.
Salary and Nature of Appointment
| Item | Details |
|---|---|
| Appointment | Assistant Professor on purely contractual basis |
| Fixed remuneration | ₹57,700 per month |
| Programme | Self-financed programme |
| Contract duration | Not specified in the five-page advertisement |
The notice describes the posts as contractual and specifies the monthly fixed salary. It does not state a contract duration in this advertisement, so candidates should rely on the appointment terms ultimately issued by the university.
Application Fee
| Category | Non-refundable fee |
|---|---|
| Unreserved / OBC | ₹2,000 |
| SC / ST / EWS / Differently Abled | ₹1,500 |
Candidates applying for more than one post or category must submit separate applications with the required fee for each application. Applications submitted without the required fee or documents may be rejected.
Selection Process
The advertisement states that there will be a written test for the Assistant Professor post. It also provides for publication of the research score (API) on the university website; candidates are allowed to submit objections to the published research score within seven days of its publication through the recruitment email specified by the university.
Shortlisted candidates will undergo a teaching-skill assessment through PowerPoint presentation at the time of interview. Merely meeting minimum eligibility does not guarantee that a candidate will be called for interview.
The five-page advertisement does not specify the written-test question count, total marks, duration, negative marking or a recruitment-specific syllabus for this contract advertisement. Candidates should follow subsequent notices on the university recruitment page for those details rather than relying on exam patterns from another recruitment cycle.
Documents and Certificates to Prepare
Candidates should keep the following documents ready according to their circumstances:
- educational qualification certificates and mark sheets;
- supporting documents uploaded with the online application;
- signed printout of the completed online application;
- attested copies of testimonials for hard-copy submission;
- appointment letter and competent-authority experience certificate for claimed service/experience;
- valid OBC/SC/ST/EWS/Differently Abled certificate, where applicable;
- Uttar Pradesh domicile certificate when claiming reservation benefit;
- AIU equivalence certificate for a foreign degree, where applicable;
- NOC and vigilance-status certificate for candidates employed in Government sectors/autonomous bodies;
- Form 16 and salary slips for the previous three years if already employed in the public/private sector;
- matriculation/SSC certificate as proof of date of birth;
- original documents for verification at the interview.
The university states that scrutiny will be based on the claims made in the application and the corresponding supporting documents uploaded on the Samarth portal.
How to Apply
- Open the university’s official recruitment page and use the linked Samarth recruitment portal.
- Complete the online application for the appropriate Assistant Professor department/category.
- Enter the required personal, academic, reservation and other details accurately.
- Upload all supporting documents on the Samarth portal.
- Pay the applicable non-refundable application fee.
- Submit the online application no later than 24 October 2026.
- Use the correction facility, if required, by 26 October 2026.
- Print the completed application and sign it.
- Attach the required attested testimonials and supporting documents.
- Send the complete hard-copy set by Registered Post or Speed Post only so that it reaches the Registrar by 31 October 2026.
Hard-Copy Application Address
The Registrar Administrative Building Maharaja Suhel Dev University Azamgarh – 276128 Uttar Pradesh
The notice requires the signed hard copy to reach the university by the deadline; candidates should not wait until the final online date before arranging dispatch.
Important Candidate Cautions
- Completing only the online application is not enough; the signed hard copy with supporting documents must also reach the university.
- The application fee is non-refundable.
- The university may reject incomplete applications or applications received without the required documents/fee.
- Reservation benefit is restricted to eligible Uttar Pradesh residents under the applicable state rules.
- OBC creamy-layer candidates cannot claim OBC reservation.
- Original documents must be produced at interview.
- Candidates in Government/autonomous bodies should arrange the required NOC and vigilance-status certificate.
- If you apply under more than one post/category choice, submit a separate form and pay the prescribed fee for each.
- No TA/DA will be paid for appearing in the written test or interview.
- MSDU reserves the right to revise, reschedule, cancel or suspend the recruitment process and may increase or decrease the number of vacancies.
- Candidates should monitor the official university website for changes, written-test details, API/research-score notices and interview updates.
Useful Official and Regal Naukri Links
| Resource | Link |
|---|---|
| Official MSDU recruitment page | Check MSDU recruitment notices |
| Official Assistant Professor advertisement | Read the official MSDU recruitment PDF |
| Official Samarth recruitment portal | Open the university-linked Samarth portal |
| Regal Naukri latest jobs | Browse latest government and institutional jobs |
| Regal Naukri career guides | Read application and career guides |
FAQs
How many vacancies are available in MSDU Assistant Professor Recruitment 2026?
There are 18 contractual Assistant Professor vacancies: 12 in Computer Science & Engineering and 6 in Law.
When does the online application close?
The online application portal closes on 24 October 2026.
Is there a separate hard-copy deadline?
Yes. The signed application with the required supporting documents must reach the Registrar by 31 October 2026 through Registered Post or Speed Post.
What is the salary?
The university has notified a fixed salary of ₹57,700 per month.
What is the application fee?
The fee is ₹2,000 for Unreserved/OBC candidates and ₹1,500 for SC/ST/EWS/Differently Abled candidates.
Is NET/SLET/SET compulsory for every applicant?
The notice applies the relevant UGC/AICTE and statutory rules. It also states specified PhD-based exemptions and says NET/SLET/SET is not required for Master’s disciplines in which an accredited NET/SLET/SET test is not conducted. Candidates should verify the exact rule applicable to their discipline.
What is the selection process?
The notice provides for a written test, publication of research/API score with an objection window, and a teaching-skill assessment through PowerPoint presentation at interview for shortlisted candidates.
Does the advertisement specify the written-test pattern?
No. This five-page advertisement does not state the number of questions, marks, duration or negative-marking rule for the written test.